SOUTH AMERICA TIME ZONES - CURRENT TIME

South America uses five standard time zones. From west to east they are UTC - 5, UTC - 4, UTC - 4:30, UTC - 3 and UTC - 2. Countries in South America which use the UTC - 5 time zone are part of Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador and Peru. UTC - 4:30 is the standard time in Venezuela. UTC - 4 is the standard time in Bolivia, part of Brazil, Chile, and Paraguay. UTC - 3 is the standard time for Argentina, part of Brazil and Uruguay. Several islands off the east coast of Brazil, including the twenty one islands in the archipelago of Fernando de Noronha observe UTC - 2 standard time. Easter Island which is a special territory of Chile and the Galapagos Islands which are a part of Ecuador observe UTC - 6 standard time. Most countries in Central America use the UTC - 6 time zone except for Panama which observes UTC - 5.

Brazil uses four time zones. Much of Brazil follows Brasilia official time which is UTC - 3. Daylight Saving Time in Brazil is observed by most of the southern, southeastern and central western states. View more information about time zones and daylight saving time in Brazil.

Daylight Saving Time in South America is used by several countries, including Brazil, Chile, Easter Island, Falkland Islands, and Paraguay. The Falkland Islands are currently observing daylight saving time year round. Due to their global position south of the equator, countries in South America usually start daylight saving time in October or November and end the usage in January through March.

In June 2015 the government of Uruguay made a decision not to start daylight saving time in October as they had in previous years. As a result Uruguay has remained on standard time UTC/GMT -3.

The government of Venezuela announced the country will observe UTC/GMT -4 effective May 1, 2016 at 2:30 am local time. This change resulted in clocks being moved forward thirty minutes. Previously Venezuela observed UTC -4:30. The change is due to concerns about a potential disruption of electrical power as a result of a continuing drought in the country.

In March 2016 authorities in Chile announced the country would end the use of observing UTC/GMT -3 year round and turn clocks back one hour as of May 14, 2016 (Midnight between Saturday and Sunday). The country remained on its previous standard time UTC/GMT -4 from May 15, 2016 through August 13, 2016. Then from August 14, 2016 until Sunday May 14, 2017 Chile utilized daylight saving time.

When daylight saving time ended on May 14, 2017 in Chile the Magallanes Region remained on daylight saving time year round. This will result in the Magallanes Region, including the capital city Punta Arenas and all provinces in the region, observing UTC/GMT -3.

South America Time Zone Map

South America Time Zone Map



South America Current Times
Select Country From Menu Below to View Details

Argentina Bolivia Chile
Monday
12/11/2017
6:30 AM
UTC-03:00
Monday
12/11/2017
5:30 AM
UTC-04:00
Monday
12/11/2017
6:30 AM
UTC-03:00

Brazil - Federal District Brazil - Rio de Janeiro Brazil -Sao Paulo
Monday
12/11/2017
7:30 AM
UTC-02:00
Monday
12/11/2017
7:30 AM
UTC-02:00
Monday
12/11/2017
7:30 AM
UTC-02:00

View All Brazil Current Times By State

Columbia Easter Island Ecuador
Monday
12/11/2017
4:30 AM
UTC-05:00
Monday
12/11/2017
4:30 AM
UTC-05:00
Monday
12/11/2017
4:30 AM
UTC-05:00

Falkland Islands French Guiana Galapagos Islands
Monday
12/11/2017
6:30 AM
UTC-03:00
Monday
12/11/2017
6:30 AM
UTC-03:00
Monday
12/11/2017
3:30 AM
UTC-06:00

Guyana Paraguay Peru
Monday
12/11/2017
5:30 AM
UTC-04:00
Monday
12/11/2017
6:30 AM
UTC-03:00
Monday
12/11/2017
4:30 AM
UTC-05:00

Suriname Uruguay Venezuela
Monday
12/11/2017
6:30 AM
UTC-03:00
Monday
12/11/2017
6:30 AM
UTC-03:00
Monday
12/11/2017
5:30 AM
UTC-04:00


Place Time Zone
Abbreviations
UTC - Offset Standard Time Observe Daylight Savings Time UTC - Offset DST Time
Argentina ART UTC-3 No None
Bolivia BOT UTC-4 No None
Brazil more details BRT / BRST UTC-3 Yes UTC-2
Brazil more details BRT UTC-4 Yes UTC-3
Chile CLT UTC-4 Yes UTC-3
Colombia COT UTC-5 No None
Easter Island EAST UTC-6 Yes UTC-5
Ecuador ECT UTC-5 No None
Falkland Islands FKT / FKST UTC-4 Yes UTC-3
Fernando de Noronha FNT UTC-2 No None
French Guiana GFT UTC-3 No None
Galapagos Islands GALT UTC-6 No None
Guyana GYT UTC-4 No None
Paraguay PYT / PYST UTC-4 Yes UTC-3
Peru PET UTC-5 No None
Suriname SRT UTC-3 No None
Uruguay UYT UTC-3 No None
Venezuela VET UTC-4:30 No None

View South America Site Map and Directory



All dates are shown in the format: month/day/year
Find an incorrect time or time zone? Please contact us.
www.TimeTemperature.com, Inc. is not responsible for any damages or problems caused by this service.
The information contained on this page is not authoritative and its use is subject to our Terms of Use.
We respect your privacy. You may view our privacy policy here

Site Copyright © 2000-2017 TimeTemperature.com, Inc.